- My Dollar Plan - http://www.mydollarplan.com -

How Long Does it Take to Get Your Tax Refund Back?

Posted By Madison On February 4, 2014 @ 10:22 am In Tax Tips | 46 Comments

When filing tax returns, the second question everyone asks is “How long does it take to get my tax refund back?” Of course, the first question everyone asks is “How much is my refund [1]?”

Tax Refund Direct Deposit versus Mail

If you want to get your refund faster, opt for the direct deposit route. Not only will the IRS send your money earlier via direct deposit, but you’ll cut down on the mailing time too.

IRS Tax Refund Schedule

How long does it take to get your tax refund back? The IRS eliminated the refund schedules [2] that were used in prior years for both direct deposit and mailed refunds.

The new guideline the IRS is using in 2014 for filing your 2013 tax return is:

Don’t count on getting your refund by a certain date to make major purchases or pay other financial obligations. Even though the IRS issues most refunds in less
than 21 days, it’s possible your tax return may require additional review and take longer.

Essentially, they’re saying most people will get their refunds in less than 21 days, but there won’t be any schedules they will follow this year.

The IRS provides these tips to tax preparers [3] to get the fastest tax refund:

  • File an accurate tax return.
  • Efile your tax return [4].
  • Use direct deposit with the correct bank account and routing number.
  • File by the tax deadline [5].
  • Use the correct mailing address and SSN for everyone listed on your return.

2014 Tax Refund Delays

Delays. For updates on delays, see the 2014 IRS tax refund delay [6].

How long can the IRS delay your refund? See How Long Can the IRS Delay Your Tax Refund? [7]

Share your results: Poll: How Long Did it Take to Get Your Tax Refund? [8]

IRS Tax Refund Status

You can track the status of your tax refund with the IRS tool Where’s My Refund? [9] or the IRS Refund Tracker Tax App [10]. You’ll see an estimated refund date once your return is processed.

While You Wait for Your Refund

Was your tax refund smaller than expected? While you are waiting for your tax refund, take a look around and find some additional ways to add to your refund amount. Check out Over $3,000 in Free Money Sign Up Bonuses [11].

More Tax Topics


Article printed from My Dollar Plan: http://www.mydollarplan.com

URL to article: http://www.mydollarplan.com/how-long-does-it-take-to-get-your-tax-refund-back/

URLs in this post:

[1] How much is my refund: http://www.mydollarplan.com/tax-calculator/

[2] refund schedules: http://www.mydollarplan.com/2012-irs-refund-schedule/

[3] tips to tax preparers: http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p2043en.pdf

[4] Efile your tax return: http://www.mydollarplan.com/6-free-e-file-options/

[5] tax deadline: http://www.mydollarplan.com/tax-deadline/

[6] 2014 IRS tax refund delay: http://www.mydollarplan.com/irs-tax-filing-delay/

[7] How Long Can the IRS Delay Your Tax Refund?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/long-can-irs-delay-tax-refund/

[8] Poll: How Long Did it Take to Get Your Tax Refund?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/how-long-did-it-take-to-get-your-tax-refund/

[9] Where’s My Refund?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/wheres-my-refund/

[10] IRS Refund Tracker Tax App: http://www.mydollarplan.com/android-iphone-tax-apps/

[11] Over $3,000 in Free Money Sign Up Bonuses: http://www.mydollarplan.com/free-money/

[12] How Do Tax Brackets Work?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/how-do-tax-brackets-work/

[13] What Do the 2014 Tax Rates Look Like?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/tax-brackets/

[14] How Much Money Do You Have to Make to File Taxes?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/money-file-taxes/

[15] How Much is the Penalty for No Health Insurance in 2014?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/penalty-for-no-health-insurance/

[16] Do Your Kids Need to File Taxes?: http://www.mydollarplan.com/do-your-kids-need-to-file-taxes/

Copyright © 2010 My Dollar Plan